Thursday, November 11, 2010

Ours... to fight for

The Four Freedoms or Four Essential Human Freedoms is a series of 1943 oil paintings by one my favorite American artists, Norman Rockwell. The Four Freedoms theme was derived from the U.S. President Franklin Roosevelt's 1941 State of the Union Address. During the speech he identified four essential human rights (Freedom of Speech, Freedom of Worship, Freedom From Want and Freedom From Fear) that should be universally protected and serve as a reminder of the American motivation for fighting in World War II. Roosevelt's message was: "In the future days which we seek to make secure, we look forward to a world founded upon four essential human freedoms."

Thank you should be said every day to our military service members, both active and veteran, for your dedication, courage and sacrifices to protect our freedom.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails